Marvel’s Secret Reverse

This is a spoiler free review.

Marvel’s Secret Reverse was an interesting comic book / anime / Yu-Gi-Oh amalgamation.  Thank you Viz Media, Marvel Comics, and NetGalley for a digital ARC copy to review.

I love Spider-man comics and Yu-Gi-Oh cartoons but I had a hard time with this book.  The story was awesome and I was engaged to see what would happen next.  Also, the usage of a card game giving people power as the crux of the story was awesome.  I really enjoyed the similarities to Yu-Gi-Oh.  The character designs and their powers reminded me of anime cartoons and Yu-Gi-Oh.

The artwork was where I had issues.  I found it hard to follow what was going on.  There was so much going on in every panel that it was hard to follow.  I think I would have enjoyed the story more had the illustrations been in full color in the ARC I was reading.  The artwork would have been easier to understand in full color rather than in black and white.

After I finished reading Marvel’s Secret Reverse Kazuki Takashi passed away.  That sad news was an awful way to finish reading his last book.  I was hoping Kazuki Takashi would try this again with more Marvel characters and see if a second try at this mash up would be better.

RIP Kazuki Takashi.  I’m glad I got to read your Spider-man / Yu-Gi-Oh comic book.

If you like Yu-Gi-Oh anime cartoons then you should give Marvel’s Secret Reverse a try.  You’ll enjoy the story and maybe like the artwork more than I did.

Stay awesome and keep reading.

Marvel’s Secret Reverse

Creative team:

Written and Illustrated Kazuki Takashi

Leave a comment